Episode 14: PCOS with guest Stefani Ruper

We are so excited to welcome our very first guest, Stefani Ruper! The mastermind behind Sexy By Nature, Paleo for Women, PCOS Unlocked, Weight Loss Unlocked, and co-host of the Paleo Women Podcast, Stefani chats with us about PCOS, a condition that effects many women with diabetes. We discuss insulin resistance, reducing inflammation, healing your gut, refueling after a workout, and the impact a low carb diet can have on hormones and thyroid. Let us know what you think!

Also, Katie is now offering 10% off Keep It Real Food Company products with the code “unscripted”. Check it out!

This entry was posted in Podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Episode 14: PCOS with guest Stefani Ruper

  1. Anna Jados says:

    I found this really informative. I’m LADA and haven’t had a cycle in 2 years since my son was born. I went very low carb, restricted my eating (no grains/starches/fruits etc) and exercised very intensely prior to losing my cycle. I lost about 20 pounds in four months on an already thin frame. I’ve since gained a few pounds back and have cut my exercise but am still low carb and restricting the food groups not good for a T1. I was also told 2 years ago that it looked like I had PCOS even though I don’t have any elevated male sex homrones. My estrogen is the only hormone that is very out of whack and it’s VERY low for my age (35). I don’t know what to do anymore to get my cycle back – I don’t want to start eating grains but perhaps eating smaller meals a day and adding in more carbs in the form of seeds/nuts/coconut flour etc would help? I started doing that the last few months but haven’t had any luck with improvement. I’m not yet on insulin (still honeymooning) so it’s very frustrating to know what will help. My BS usually hovers around 100-125 all day. 😦

    Like

    • Katie says:

      Thanks for reaching out, Anna. I’m glad the episode was helpful! I definitely encourage you to check out the Paleo Women Podcast – they discuss amenorrhea and how to get your cycle back on a couple episodes. I think increasing calories and cutting back on intense exercise is a great start – you need to reassure your body that you are fed and not stressed. There are also various supplements you can take to increase estrogen. I would suggest seeing a naturopathic or functional medicine doctor to help with that. I’ll keep thinking about it and see what else I can come up with! And maybe Kory has something to add.

      Like

      • Anna says:

        Thanks for replying Katie. I’ve read a bunch of articles on her site and listened to her podcast and finding them very helpful just seems like nothing is working for me. The more I eat to try to gain weight, the higher my blood sugar goes and I have to be so careful with that since I’m not on insulin yet. I have also been seeing a functional doctor the last 3 months and she has me on a plethora of supplements to help with my BG and hormones but so far no changes. Perhaps starting insulin will allow my hormones to regulate more and not stress my body out, or at least allow me to eat more at meals and snacks to try to put some weight back on. I feel so hopeless sometimes. 😦

        Like

  2. agrossman7 says:

    Thanks for replying Katie. I’ve read a bunch of articles on her site and listened to her podcast and finding them very helpful just seems like nothing is working for me. The more I eat to try to gain weight, the higher my blood sugar goes and I have to be so careful with that since I’m not on insulin yet. I have also been seeing a functional doctor the last 3 months and she has me on a plethora of supplements to help with my BG and hormones but so far no changes. Perhaps starting insulin will allow my hormones to regulate more and not stress my body out, or at least allow me to eat more at meals and snacks to try to put some weight back on. I feel so hopeless sometimes. 😦

    Like

    • Katie says:

      Honestly I think going on insulin is a good idea – I was thinking the same thing. It would be really tiny amounts (look into diluting it), but would give you a bit more freedom to add foods.

      Like

  3. Terry Gomez says:

    Very helpful, just the right info that I was searching for, thanks to author for sharing this type of valuable information 🙂

    Diabetes mellitus is a complex chronic disease, but also a manageable and controllable disease, in many cases, diabetes can be better controlled by following a healthy diet and exercise routine, while more serious cases, Diabetes is treated with a combination of dietary modifications, oral medications and insulin injections if necessary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

